Women’s Development Cell

In response to the Vishaka Judgment passed by the Supreme Court in 1997, the University of Mumbai has directed the ‘University Women Development Cell (UWDC)’ in 2001 with the key purpose of making the University a gender-sensitive space. The University also directed all its affiliated colleges to set up a ‘Women Development Cell’ at college level.

In compliance of this directive of the University, the Women Development Cell Terna Engineering college was set up under the chairmanship of Dr. Vaishali Khairnar. It is an active committee comprising of staff members and students of our College, and functions with an aim to prevent sexual harassment, promote well being of all the female students and staff members and create a gender sensitized community within campus as well as in the society.

Women’s Development Cell and Sexual Harassment Prevention Cell (A.Y. 2018-19)

Sr No. Name Of The Member Designation of CWDC Mobile No Email-Id
01 Dr. Vaishali Khairnar Convener 9920184138 vaishalikhairnar@ternaengg.ac.in
02 Dr. Geetanjali Yempalle Member (Teaching Faculty) 9920028799 geetanjaliyempalle@ternaengg.ac.in
03 Mrs. Ujwala Gaikwad Member (Teaching Faculty) 9221543178 ujwalagaikwad@ternaengg.ac.in
04 Ms. M. S. Pandhare Member (Non-Teaching Faculty) 8689984809 mayapandhare@ternaengg.ac.in
05 Ms. Anita Surve Member (Non-Teaching Faculty) 9619306566 anitasirve@ternaengg.ac.in
06 Ms. Ruchira Vaity (UG) Student 9987688006 ruchiravaity@gmail.com
07 Ms. Divya Tiwari (PG) Student 9594960301 divyatiwari0301@gmail.com
08 Mr. Trimukhe Mahadu A. (Ph.D) Student 9004747247 Mahadu2005@gmail.com
09 Mrs. Ujwala Khobrekar NGO Member 9833449435 Sweet.ruchi.m12@gmail.com



WDC Internal Complaint Committee (ICC) of Terna Engineering College, Nerul organized a “ROSHNI MARATHON” on 24th March 2019.The theme of the marathon was “SELF LOVE”. It was dedicated to the cause of promoting health and fitness.The chief guests for the event were Mr.Sanjay Naik (International Volleyball Player ,RCF), Mr.Bajirao Hodge (Pro-Kabaddi Player,MS Police),Ms.Hema Banga (Sub-inspector and gold medallist in the World police games, USA).

Women Development Cell (ICC) of Terna Engineering College organized a celebratory event on the occasion of International Women’s Day on 8th March 2019. The event was held in the Terna Auditorium. It started at around 3:00pm.The chief guest as well as the Judge of the Fashion Show in the event was Mrs. Tina Chaudhari (Mrs. Maharashtra 2017, Mrs. India HM 2018 Winner Award and the Recipient of Women Leadership Award 2018). The program consisted of Miss Terna contest for girls, fashion show by faculty as well as energetic dance performances.

Women Development Cell (ICC) of Terna Engineering College organized a basic health check-up with skin,hair and eye check-up camp in collaboration with Terna Hospital on 11th and 12th March 2019.The camp was from 9am to 5pm in the Girls Common Room (Room no. 416).Total attendance for the camp was 219.The camp benefited the female students as well as the staff as they got a check of their health and also gained proper solutions from the Doctors for their particular health issues.

A seminar on Health Challenges for Girls was conducted by Women Development Cell (WDC) of Terna Engineering College, Nerul on 9th October 2018 in the College Seminar Hall.The seminar was about creating awareness among girls on how to overcome challenges faced during menstruation.